Tags

, , , , , , ,

In the Czech Republic, children are scared by the Devil into behaving until Christmas Eve, when they get their presents.

In the Czech Republic, children are scared by the Devil into behaving until Christmas Eve, when they get their presents.

I feel like travelers take for granted their own culture’s holiday customs when experiencing similar festive times around the world.  For example, in the Czech Republic children look for a “flying baby Jesus” who brings their presents, instead of Santa Claus.  I love this about travel though, getting to experience new and sometimes kooky holiday traditions around the world.

Write about an unusual holiday custom you experienced while traveling.

Have you ever spend Christmas on the beach in South Africa?  What about leaving your shoes out in Mexico?  Have you ever traveled to a country where your holiday isn’t celebrated at all?  Tell me about it!

I’m working on a lot of projects this week but as always, feel free to leave your story in the comments section or send me an email for me to provide feedback.

Have a happy one, no matter where you are!
Katka

