Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The amount of love and giving I’ve received from friends, family and perfect strangers due to my own personal Hurricane Sandy experience has been overwhelming. I wake up every day, thankful to have such wonderful people in my life. So it’s time to give back! I’ve been especially generous this holiday season because so many have been generous to me. And I’ve gone a little overboard with my donations to Passports with Purpose, a non-profit group that links travel bloggers, fundraising and fun every year in pursuit of helping those in need.

When my apartment flooded during Hurricane Sandy, many of our amenities were shut off. We had no heat, electricity or clean water for days. Eventually, these everyday items were returned to us but it was difficult to fathom life without them. Now take developing nations, such as Haiti, with citizens who still struggle to rebuild their lives after a devastating earthquake in 2009. If you’ve ever lived a day without clean water, you know how harrowing it can be. Try living an entire lifetime.

Not only am I in the running for some super cool prizes donated by famous travel bloggers, but every $10 I donate goes directly towards building clean water wells in Haitian communities. You can be a part of this too! Check out the sweet prizes I bid for:

A Glorious Week in Provence (theprovencepost.blogspot.com)
A week in a villa in St. Remy de Provence, with meals in top restaurants, private guided tours, massages and much more. This is like, the ultimate romantic getaway and if I win this, I think I’d pee my pants out of joy.

$100 Amazon.com e-gift card (onmyfeetorinmymind.com)
$100 Amazon.com e-gift card. Most of my things are corroded with salt water from Hurricane Sandy’s tidal surges. An Amazon gift card could help me replace some desperately needed items.

B&H Photo Gift Certificate (escapenewyork.blogspot.com)
$100 gift certificate to B&H Photo which can be redeemed online or in store. B&H is local to me and I just bought a super cute DSLR. Would love to pick up a pancake lens to make it ultimately portable!

Exclusive Atlanta Experience at Omni CNN Center (includes a swim with Whale Sharks!) (www.fieldtripswithsue.com)
An exclusive Atlanta experience at the four-diamond Omni Hotel at CNN Center in the Coca-Cola Suite plus attraction tickets and a swim w/whale sharks! I don’t have a lot of vacation time so I’m looking for some nice long-weekends or stay-cations. I’ve never been to Atlanta before but this would be a wonderful little break packed with super fun activities!

Three-night stay at Jicaro Island Ecolodge in Nicaragua (www.everthenomad.com)
A three-night stay at Jicaro Island Ecolodge, with lodging, non-alcoholic beverages and three daily meals, for two people. This property looks GORGEOUS and would make for a wonderful long weekend with a special someone. It’s inclusive enough and would be so great to spend three days relaxing in the pool or on the lake.

$200 voucher toward flights on Skyscanner (www.gobackpacking.com)
$200 voucher to use toward booking a flight or flights(s) found on Skyscanner.net. Any dollar bills off the cost of my flight is worth trying for!

HTC Titan (www.idelish.com)
Two Windows Phone 7 (upgradable to Windows Phone 7.5) – HTC Titan and HTC Titan II (MSRP: $550 each). Winner will receive both phones. This one I hope to win for my folks, who are in desperate need of an upgrade from the flip phone of the 20th century haha.

3 Day Big Sky, MT and Yellowstone Family Adventure (blog.trekaroo.com)
Lodging at BucksT4, a luxury tour of Yellowstone, adventures at Big Sky Resort, & a day out for mom and dad at Moonlight Basin (babysitting included). Again, this seems like a great package for a long-weekend getaway to an adventurous place. I loved seeing the geologic wonders in Iceland, Yellowstone would be a great comparison!

$1,000 vacation rental anywhere from HomeAway (www.alloverthemap.net)
$1,000 to use in any of HomeAway’s 350,000 vacation rentals worldwide! My family goes to the Jersey Shore every year and rents homes at crazy-expensive prices. Would love to use this voucher towards a week at the beach, or perhaps an exotic location somewhere else!

Please consider making a donation to this great cause. You can read more about the donation process here. It’s not too late to donate but December 11 is the last day, so hurry up! Hand out those Hamiltons for a chance to go somewhere cool!

Would love to win some long-weekend vacays for my man and I!

