Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

KatkaTravels

©KatkaTravels

Word count as of today: 41,006 (out of 50,000)

I’ve fallen behind on my NaNoWriMo schedule.  The past few days were filled with several events that kept me away from computers for a majority of the day and I wasn’t able to meet my goal of 5 pages per night.  I have a lot of catching up to do.  I’ve also been engrossed in several projects, professionally and academically, which of course have to take precedence.  I know it’s cliche, but there really aren’t enough hours in a day to do all of the things I need to do!

I’m satisfied with the work I’ve produced thus far however.  Every day something new happens that I can add to my story and make it authentic. What I’m hoping arises from this project is how amazing people really are.  The amount of resilience, kindness and power people have offered during this tragic time is truly astounding.  It’s been almost five weeks since the storm hit but for many, their lives are starting to get back to normal thanks to help from others.  People just want to help, and I, along with those in more need, are eternally grateful for this.  It has really restored within me a sense of hope and acknowledgement that yes, there are assholes out there but when the time calls for it, people really band together and make good.

So I have to be more diligent about my work and try to cram in a page or two whenever I get a free moment.  I’d really like to make a significant dent in this project just to prove to myself that I am capable of writing something cool within a short amount of time.  Whether or not this goes on to be published, I don’t know, but at least I’ll be able to say to myself “You did it!  Congratulations!” and maybe buy myself a drink.

Have you had any trouble with your NaNoWriMo process?  What have you done to remedy the situation?

