Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

©KatkaTravels

I meant to post an update last week about my NaNoWriMo process but OOOPS my home got decimated by a hurricane, and I’ve only JUST received power today.  So far, I’ve been able to stick to my goal of about 5 pages a day, but the topic has changed.  This past week has been both a nightmare for me and an incredibly inspirational time, so I’ve decided to write about my experience with Hurricane Sandy.  I think my story is unique in that I’m somewhere in between “People who just lost power” and “People who lost their entire homes and have absolutely nowhere to go.”

Sometimes, you have to lose it all in order to gain more.

There are definitely some travel-related themes throughout the book as well.  For example, I have become an actual vagabond, floating between homes with only the clothing on my back (or in a garbage bag – the flood took all my luggage).  Many travel skills were utilized during this hurricane, such as living without electricity (I lived without in Ghana) and taking public transportation during the gas shortage (so much fun!). I am in the process of recovering my travel journals, which are oh-so-special to me and hopefully survived well enough for me to type them up and save them forever.

That’s all I have to say right now about that.  Granted, I’ve had a lot of free time to work on this as my company lost power and they aren’t sure when it will be restored.  So right now I am also jobless, which has its ups and downs.

How are you doing with your NaNoWriMo process?

