Tags

, , , , , ,

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is creeping up on us.  The idea is to write a full-fledged novel (175 pages, 50,000 words) between November 1 and November 30, 2012.  People always say they are going to do this thing, but then they never do it.  Why?  Because writing a novel is hard as f*ck.

But this year, along with allllll the other things going on in my life (full-time job, full-time grad school, freelance writing gigs, etc), I’m going to do it.  I am going to write a novel in 30 days or less.  Here’s my plan:

Set Goals: I calculated that 175 pages in 30 days is about 6 pages per day.  When you look at it like that, it’s hella easy!  When I sit down to write, my average is about 10-15 pages a day.

Set Deadlines: Despite my fantastic page turnout, my problem is I don’t have any deadlines, so the content fizzles out until I’m bored with one project and move on to the next.  A deadline of November 30 will hopefully keep me on-task.

Set the Pace: I’m super good at doing that.  I’m not a procrastinator and I like breaking things up, so the 6 page a day goal is pretty realistic timeframe for me.

So what am I going to write about?  A travel novel of course!  I’ve been trying to put together an eBook for quite some time and this would be the perfect opportunity to hammer it out and make that happen.  If not, I have another genre I’ve been tinkering with, but I won’t reveal that until I’ve met my goal…

Interestingly enough, NaNoWriMo is “all about quantity, not quality. The kamikaze approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly” (Gotham Writer’s Workshop).  Basically, I’ll be writing a draft based on diligence, not a finished product at my leisure.

Does NaNoWriMo sound like something you’d like to do?  Let’s hear your thoughts!  Leave a comment below and let me know if you’ll be taking up the challenge!  You can learn more about NaNoWriMo here.

