Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Fishing boats in the harbor at Elmina, Ghana

August, 2007

We’ve just left Elmina’s number one tourist attraction, Elmina Slave Castle. I say “number one” because it is the only tourist attraction this haunting city has to offer. Thoroughly sobered after viewing a part of West African history I’d rather forget, my friends and I take a walk through town. We stumble upon the harbor, congested with colorful boats readying themselves for a day out at sea. Jen and I contemplate taking a ride in one of them, excited to experience a part of Ghanaian enterprise, ocean-caught fish. However, we deviate from the idea after witnessing more than one fishing boat capsize, battling against the waves and out to sea. No use struggling against the tide, we opt to safely watch them from the shore.

 

